• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

$5 Replacement for Summer/Winter Air Intake Box

Dick R

When I acquired my 71 2002, the air intake regulator housing was missing.   When I found out that they were available for around $150, I figured that I could easily do without one – especially since living in coastal Southern California pretty much negates the need for the “winter” setting.   But there was that unused snorkel  - a constant reminder of an untapped cool intake air source. So I went to one of my favorite BMW parts stores (A.K.A. Home Depot).   Armed with some digital calipers, the snorkel dimensions, and an OE rubber boot I had acquired, I studied the plumbing fixtures for quite some time for inspiration.  What I ended up with was:

A 2-inch, ABS, 90 degree street elbow drain fitting that takes the place of the box.   Part number C5807-2.  

A 1.25-inch PVC, 45 degree elbow.  Part number C417-012. This white plastic fitting was the only thing I found that fit the boot and the black plastic elbow like it was made for that purpose.  I had to cut one of the legs off, so that’s why there’s a bias cut under the boot end.  I glued that into the black plastic elbow. 

I made 4 saw cuts in the black plastic piece that attaches to the snorkel so that I could clamp it securely.  I first used a typical hose clamp, but then replaced it with a fancy-schmancy black Allen bolt clamp.

These two plastic fittings set me back a total of $4.53.  Heck of a lot better than $150. 

IMG_3056.jpg

IMG_3057.jpg

IMG_3050.jpg

IMG_3051.jpg

IMG_1336.jpg

IMG_1339.jpg

• Like 9

Nice!

But what do you do in the winter???

Encinitas, CA

oh, right....

t

could get used to eternal summers...

"I learn best through painful, expensive experience, so I feel like I've gotten my money's worth." MattL