• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Crank No Start Issue

Tknackstedt

Hi all,

happy new year. I received my 70's Grenada about 2 months ago. was unfortunately only able to drive it twice (registration) and around town before Ohio winter and the business of the holiday season hit. I am now unfortunately unable to get the car running again...specifically, it turns over but does not start (i.e. no combustion)

While I am a complete novice, I realize you need fuel and a spark to drive the engine. I took the filer off the weber carb and sprayed start spray and poured gasoline down the throats without any improvement. I then pulled a random spark plug, reattached it to the ignition coil and cranked, saw no spark on the plug resting on the engine. I am in the process of conceptually working my way backwards towards distributor and power supply. 

In the process, I came across this loose wire. it originated form the Bosch ignition coil. Could someone confirm if this should be hooked up to the distributor or what the purpose is?

Thanks,

Thomas

IMG_4025.jpg

Look on the dizzy--there should be a male terminal poking through the housing casting, insulated from the casting.  IIRC it should be connected to a wire coming from the coil--and I think it's the one you circled in yellow.  If that terminal on the dizzy is devoid of any connection, try connecting the loose one and see what happens.  You may be pleasantly surprised.