Old@Heart

Swapping an BRZ motor FA20 into 1970 2002

21 posts / 1001 viewsLast Reply

Anything is possible with enough talent or money but I have to ask why that motor specifically? Even BRZ owners don’t seem to like it. 

• Thanks 1

You want the H6 for 3 liters of displacement!

t

transmissions?  no problem!

• Thanks 1

32 minutes ago, Mike G said:

Anything is possible with enough talent or money but I have to ask why that motor specifically? Even BRZ owners don’t seem to like it. 

I am sorry if I screwed up the replying method. I am a noob to this forum. I just liked the power for the money and it seemed like a reasonable option because I know people also do the F20C swaps. I don’t really wanna hassle with the straight six options.  

Anything will go in- rotaries even had their phase.

I think the only rule is that you're not allowed to hack up

the shell of a pristine, original- paint car.

Anything else is forgiven- IF you finish it!

t

guilty of not finishing it.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 2

I don't know of one. It seems unlikely that a boxer would fit in a space designed for an inline, or at least without significant relocation of the steering and brakes. I wonder, too, about whether it would fit between the struts. A BRZ has an almost 8in wider front track. It would be an interesting swap. If you go down this path, let us know and keep us up to date.

• Thanks 1

There are so many DOHC JDM 4 cyl. motors out there if I was looking for reliability and horsepower I would start there, Then again I would never do if I had complete car to start with

• Thanks 1

I'd also be concerned about the added width of a boxer motor... Why not just go with a S2000? That's a proven swap, fits well, and revs to the moon. Excellent drivetrain. 

• Thanks 1

12 hours ago, TobyB said:

You want the H6 for 3 liters of displacement!

t

transmissions?  no problem!