msk340i

Newbie to 2002. Please advise!

18 posts / 543 viewsLast Reply

I'm a newbie here so please pardon my ignorance. I've always wanted to build a classic car into a street/track car (sacrilege I know) and I looked everywhere until I doing a pretty beat up 1974 2002. It has rust under the doors, around the edges of fenders, trunk and hood. The scary part is the rust on the street towers around the strut mounts. The engine runs OK I'm going to work on it. The carburetor needs a rebuild I'm sure. The brakes need a refresh. The interior will be stripped. I've never done a project this big before and I want to do most of the things myself. I need all the advice you guys can give me. The body rust to me is the hardest and most important issue to deal with. If you can give me advice I really appreciate it. If you can point me towards a helpful source I'll also appreciate it. Thanks 😊

First of all, welcome to the '02 fraternity/sorority--lotsa friendly folks on the FAQ, and even better, lots of really useful information especially for one who's new to 2002s.  

For your project rust is the biggest problem--things mechanical can be repaired pretty easily compared to properly repairing structural rust.  Serious rust around the front strut mounts is fairly rare; it's the rear spring and shock mount areas (inner fender wells inside the trunk), and the frame rails (under the rocker panels) that are much more common.  Rear subframe rust--in the subframe itself and subframe mount points are other things to watch out for.  There are numerous articles and discussions on this subject in the archives; research 'em.  Before you delve into the mechanical systems on your car, make sure that the rust you report isn't (1) beyond your own abilities or (2) beyond your pocketbook to pay someone else to repair.  If you're gonna take this car on a track, the body shell must be at least as sturdy as it was the day it left the factory, if not a bit stronger.