Chris_B

123/Tune+ Oh No!

18 posts / 544 viewsLast Reply

I participated in the great 123 Ignition group buy of 2016. Didn't get around to installing the dizzy until last week. I have been working on tuning my 45 DCOE carbs for the last several years, and finally got them to perform they way I wanted. I decided I should modernize my ignition system, since I was running a system I installed not long after I got the car and rebuilt the motor in 2004: new JFD4 002 dizzy, Pertronix Ignitor, Jacobs Energy Ignition coil, MSD 6A (analog) ignition.

That ignition system only had about 10K miles on it, but I figured newer had to be better so I bought the 123 ignition dizzy and recently an MSD 6AL digital ignition. BTW, the original system worked great with my DCOE setup after tuning.

Buying the 123/Tune+ was a mistake. I am a gadget freak and could not resist the BT interface version, although I am sure that once I have the advance curve set up I will not use the tuning function again. In retrospect, I would much rather have the logging capability of the USB version. However, the dashboard on mobile phone feature is very cool. Again, not something I am likely to use all of the time.

I have a couple of problems. I went against my cardinal rule of not making changes until the change is proven before installing the next change. I first did the swap of the analog MSD for the digital. Everything seemed to work fine, with the car idling in the driveway. Then, I installed the 123 Ignition. After a bunch of trial and error, I got the new dizzy installed properly (not a dig at the 123 ignition- I was being lazy and did not track the rotation of the motor enough to get the dizzy pointed in the right direction on first try).

My presumption is that the 123 dizzy should be installed at static TDC, since the dizzy can control the timing absolutely. I have a few questions/problems: