Fishfan

2002 n00b here

47 posts / 1594 viewsLast Reply

Hi guys. I'm new to the world of 2002s but not to vintage cars. I have a 1966 Dodge Polara that I've owned for 15 years and I restored and use as my daily driver.  

I bought a 1974 2002 as a gift for my wife because her late father had one when she was a little girl and that started her life long love affair with BMWs. The car is at the shop that works on my Dodge and has been completely disassembled as a bunch of bodywork was necessary. After fits and stops, it seems like the project is finally moving again. 

The car was originally the mint green color and then the previous owner had painted it white. I will be having it painted Verano Red because that was the color of my wife's Dad's. The front bumper will be removed in favor of a valance and the rear bumper will get a tuck job.

The previous owner apparently used it at a daily driver until he blew a head gasket. So engine is going to be rebuilt. The shop located a 5-speed transmission from a later model BMW and is recommending the upgrade from the 4-speed. Anyone have experience with that?

What mods would you make for performance, comfort or safety?

Image-1.jpeg

Image-2.jpeg

Image-3.jpeg

Image-5.jpeg

Image.jpeg

Cool.

383?

😉

Welcome!

P.S. Regarding your other question, there's about 15 years of guidance for you, here, on this site.

😉

Cheers,

Welcome to the madness.  It's a beautiful experience.

The color would be Verano.  Very nice.

Generally, 2002s are awesome out the box.

Replace worn parts with stock items.  2002s are fantastic cars from the factory.  The only imreal improvements you can make are in the suspension and tires, and that is due to newer technology.

Stick to the tried and true mods that have been used for decades and work well. 

Suspension:  Either stock springs, bilstein HD shocks, stock rubber bushings, stock sway bars.  (Comfort)