• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Is oil supposed to get into the oil breather hose and carb??

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Oops! - sorry for the double post

I'm pretty sure that I have to rebuild soon, but I need to put it

off for a while. - So I'm reading about that separation of

breather hose from the carb air filter in Macartney's

Restoration guide to prevent oil fumes from mixing in with air

and fuel in the carb and thought I'd try it, but when I get the

hose and carb air filter apart there is proably a tablespoon of

motor oil sitting in the filter area and the filter is pretty

saturated with oil - I'm very new to this, but it seem that this is

totally wrong to me - I'm thinking of putting some cloth over

the breather whole on the motor so fumes can get through,

but not oil - is this an ok solution for the short term? The

motor runs pretty well actually (although doesn't start on the

first crank when hot)????

Any suggestions/ advice - thanks!

Andreas

Guest Anonymous

Some even disconnect it from the air cleaner housing and put a filter on the end of the hose.

Guest Anonymous

I'm sure there's some sort of valve to keep this from happening in the elbow attachment, but it seems to me that the carb is nothing more than a vaccuuum. I would think any negative atmospheric pressure would draw MORE oil out of the valve cover.

I run the little k&n filter directly on the valve cover and it does nicely! Not too messy (I only wipe it down occasionally) and looks pretty cool IMHO. And no oil into the carb. Weber's are sensitive enough, you don't want to go gumming them up with a bunch of oil...

I've even seeen the breather hose just left hanging down over the tranny to just drip at will when needed, I don't like this either...