• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Engine out...now what?

Mars55

Hi all - The engine from my '68 1600 is out while the engine area is repaired of some rust and painted. I'm still learning abut this car since I bought it late last year; engine runs but the car hasn't been road-worthy (brakes, etc).

The shop owner will let me use his shop to clean up the engine. He suggested I can use his sand blaster on some of the brackets and other parts while they're easy to get to. This is new to me: what would you do? Which parts should/could be cleaned safely. And as for sand blasting...?

All suggestions welcome. Thanks!

Depends on your goals, timeline and budget. 

I'm a 02 rookie and in the same boat as you. My 2.0 engine (attached to front sub frame and trans) is out and on the garage floor. I have a notional plan which includes most of the items below that will kick off once my home paint job is complete.

My Moto: Embrace the mission creep - plan for it to drive another 50 years!

That said and excluding all the things that you can do to the engine and/or engine swaps, here are some ideas (most of which you can do with the engine in as well).  It's certainly not exhaustive but food for thought.

• Clean everything
  • Paint engine bay
  • Powder coat or chrome plate as desired
  • Inspect repair or replace heater box / hoses
  • Inspect repair or replace steering box
  • Inspect repair or replace suspension
  • Consider an Alternator upgrade
  • Consider E30 M3 Starter
  • Consider new carb options or FI options
  • Consider 5spd upgrade
  • Inspect repair or replace wiper motor
  • Inspect repair or replace Washer fluid reservoir, pump and hoses
  • Inspect repair or replace hood hardware/pads bump stop thingys (Anything rubber)