• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Any reason not to use this Fram Oil Filter?

jrhone

I was getting some oil filters and the local BMW parts store only had 1 Mahle and so they gave me  this Fram as well.  I put the Mahle in but on the next full oil change any reason not to use this Fram?

49828607-37D4-4977-8914-8EF519F7A751.thumb.jpeg.e6fbf5d1f61e1aa6880b4acea471517b.jpeg897C87FD-BE0E-4F31-8E26-CB1BE0D3C614.thumb.jpeg.236ef8e614e710e6cfcf1a42bf80f50a.jpeg

1976 BMW 2002 Fjord Blue Ireland Stage II • Bilstein Sports • Ireland Headers • Weber 38 • 292 Cam • 9.5:1 Pistons • 123Tune Bluetooth 15" BBS

2016 BMW 535i M Sport

1964 Volvo Amazon Wagon
http://www.project2002.com

I have zero technical knowledge of oil filters-have read a few threads on FRAM filters and it always seems to be bad news.  I have to say I find it interesting that they are commonly used on Ferrari's (esp 365 GTB/4 Daytona's which has to be a motor worth I don't know how much - but ALOT).  I wouldn't think you would put a POS oil filter on an engine like that.....

dd04.jpg

My suggestion is to compare the two filters by holding them in your hands. My guess is the Mahle will feel much more substantial than the Fram. That’s because the Mahle is much more robust.

I broke in my motor with an STP filter, but then it only had to last 15 minutes. [emoji23]

-David

1972 2002 - 2577652 Follow the fun