Booger32

Tii block stamp pad

37 posts in this topic Last Reply

Hey guys, I'm not new to older BMW's but I'm brand new to the 2002's.

I have wanted one for years and have the chance to buy a 74 Tii.

i have a question about the engine block. The stamp pad above the starter does not show the chassis VIN. The two X's or +'s are there, one at each end of stamp pad , but nothing else in between.

I think it's a factory replacement block.

What do you think?

next question: does it hurt the value?

thanks, Steve 

Chattanooga 

Yeah that's a factory rebuild block it will probably make some difference in the final price but not all that much  especially with a factory rebuild as opposed to just some random Tii motor with a unknown history, of course all the above is just my opinion and is guaranteed to be worth what you payed for it:lol:  

Usually factory rebuilt motors have a series of letters and numbers--check the archives; one of our members posted a very complete explanation of just what those letters and number mean.

mike

The stamp pad still has 'straight line' broach marks and not 'circular' marks like they were ground off .

This  car is rougher than a night in jail and I was hoping that it had the original motor... because that would be the only thing it really had going for it.

How can I research the VIN to find out anything about it?

Thanks, Steve 

Thank Mike, 

I search the archives again. 

Steve

Look here on the rear of your block; the right two numbers are the build month and year; I can't remember what the others are.

Cheers!

P4104484.JPG

almost forgot, here on the exhaust side, but I also don't know what they designate.

there is also something stamped on the usual VIN place, but don't have a picture and the block is out or service.

P4104491.JPG

n/t (duplicate post)

Edited by Conserv