glyif

m10 engine rebuild for learning

15 posts in this topic Last Reply

(edited)

hello,

i am a car noob, have done some basic maintenance but nothing really mechanical. I have an M10 engine that has low compression on 2 cylinders, is it doable for a noob to rebuild an M10? If so, are there any guides or anything like that? also what tools/setup would i need....

Edited by glyif

Give it a shot, there is enough info on this forum to teach anyone. Just do your due diligence and read read read! Good luck! 

• Like 1

(edited)

To quote the immortal Ms. Frizzle, "Take chances, make mistakes, get messy!"

Look at the "project blog archive" and find someone who has documented his process (Jgerock's jumps to mind).  

As mentioned, read read read.  I have a "newbie" intro guide to rebuilding the cylinder head here... Plan on downloading the BMW factory manual.  Find an experienced machinist "with the heart of a teacher".  Maybe start with something simple to get your feet wet, like resealing the steering box.

Edited by AceAndrew
  • Like 2
  • Haha 1

do it, they're simple, just break it down methodically, catalogue everything as you go (zip lock freezer bags are really handy for grouping bolts etc), take pics and as mentioned read tons. You need a socket set and a few spanners, valve spring compressor, piston ring compressor, patience and lastly, you need to clean everything to within an inch of it's life. 

remember engines are engines, so all principles can be applied to the m10. oh and an engine stand makes the process much more enjoyable. 

Completely do-able. (ask this noob) 

M10 was the first motor I've ever built, and (I think) mine is still doing great! I just have a bit of an ignition and after-work-cold-weather induced laziness problem dealing with it, haha.