• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Can't get gas to the engine

robmck

We're having a hard time diagnosing our 1976 2002's inability to get gas to the engine. I'm wondering if you could help. I'm new to 2002s.

Late last year, my fiancée and I purchased the car and it appeared to be in good order. The first few drives were great; we went through about a tank of gas each. Gradually, we noticed the car wasn't happy at 2000-3000 RPMs: the car stuttered and hesitated, while the AFR gauge went full lean. If we could get it over 4000 RPMs, then it was happy and roared. 

On our last drive of fall, the stuttering was really pronounced. It was hard going driving back home, but we got there. We backed it into the garage and as soon as it was in position, it died. (Very thoughtful of it to get back home). I popped the hood and noticed the inline gas filter was bone dry.

We've replaced all the fuel lines and a few other diagnostic tests (detailed below), and still can't get it to start (or get much gas into the fuel filter). 

First, some details about the car. It's a 1976 2002 that the previous owner had for over 25yrs. He drove it quite a lot, though it has been driven only rarely in the last 5 years. Here are the updates he made to the car:
 - Weber 38/38 DGES carb
 - New pistons
 - Cam regrind to get more valve lift and longer opening
 - Ported intake manifold & cylinder head to breathe better
 - Air injectors removed from exhaust manifold (improved exhaust flow)
 - Fuel return system disabled (lots of plugged lines; coal filter missing?)

Starting at the tank and working forward, here's what we've done:

1) Replaced the cloth-covered fuel line between the tank and the plastic tube.