NJQQ

dash instrument light dilemma

3 posts in this topic Last Reply

This is my first time writing on FAQ, although I always read it - such a great resource. 

I recently removed the instrument cluster on my '72 02 to replace burned out bulbs.  When I put it it all back in the red alternator light was not working.  Using Rob Siegel's new book (and his 2016 online alternator light column) and my my new multimeter, I figured that the wiring from the alternator to the round 12-prong plug was good, as was the wiring from the plug to the ignition switch. By pushing on the back of the cluster, I could make the alternator light wink on.  So I thought that there was a problem with the board that the multi-instruments are mounted on.

Daily Classics had a used one on sale, which I purchased, plugged in, and the red alternator light came on and worked perfectly.  All the other warning lights also worked.  But now the background lights don't work on the new gauge.  I double checked the old gauge (where the alternator light still doesn't work) and all the background lights work on that one.  And I checked that I'm using new working bulbs all around.

Is it common for problems with the printed boards or connections behind the multi-gauge? Anything I might be missing?  And is it possible to solder in a new wire connection? or is this not a good idea (don't want to set the car on fire to save a few bucks). 

Walloth-Nesch sells a new 74 or later gauge for 200-something dollars , and I assume I can swap out the crosshair faceplate.  Seems pricey, but I've spent more for parts on my E46.

Otherwise, will a later gauge (with gray bulb-holders) work with on a '72 car (with black bulb-holders)?  There are some complete '74-'76 3-gauge clusters available on-line in the $100 range, chances are 3rd try will be the charm?

Thanks in advance for any advice or recommendations,

Eric

Nevada '72 2002