another E30 question

esty

steve's changing the timing belt on our lasted addition, an 87 e30...he pulled off the camshaft sprocket to change the seal...he  chip out piece where the sprocket alignment pin fits...will this be a problem....we sure don't want to change the cam

image.jpeg.ee1acc3c20172e5221e6b28f0ffa5f22.jpeg

the sprocket seems to fit tightly and the pin does still fit far enough in the hole so it shouldn't spin

1.thumb.jpg.e6b733e7eda7226e12fa2bb9615e5beb.jpg

please say this isn't a huge problem or it is

Hi,

First off, I should mention that I have ZERO experience with the M20 engine so take this engineer's observations with as many grains of salt as you feel comfortable.

The torque on that M10 bolt is 65 Nm (48 lbs-ft), which is pretty substantial.  Because of that, it seems that the 8 mm dowel pin is not going to be bearing much of the torque load when the engine is running.  If you can torque the bolt to spec with a dowel in that cracked hole, my guess is that you will be okay.

Secondly, the way that crack is, you have more than half of the circumference still present.  That will keep the dowel from moving and therefore the alignment will be true.  The missing piece does not contribute too much to taking the torque load - a slot would have worked fine in that location instead of a hole.

If you can lock the camshaft from turning while you torque the sprocket bolt, you will be kinder to the broken portion.  Perhaps wedge some blocks of soft wood against the cam in a safe location?

$.02, but usual disclaimers apply :-)

Is the surface that the shaft seal rides on all there?  if not the seal won't be there for long.  This engine runs with a negative pressure in the crankcase in an attempt to keep the oil in better.  Just loosen the oil fill cap with it running and it will be apparent.