Car almost dies after spirited driving

silasmoon

My 2002 has a 292 cam, 9.5:1 pistons, new DGES 38/38, electric fuel pump and 123 distributor with a Ti curve. After some spirited driving, say zipping up a hill, when I come to a stop the car idles at 900 and then starts to dive to almost 0. If I tap on the gas the idle will pick up again, and all is good in the world. 

This morning I cleared the idle jets and set the float level to 40mm closed, 51mm open. This flies in the face of the common 35mm closed, 50mm open, but according to the attached chart it's the correct setting. I run a vacuum advance to my 123 distributor. I warmed the car up and re-calibrated the carb with about 3/4 turn in on idle adjustment and a 900rpm idle with about a 1/2 turn in on the speed screw. I am running size 50 idle jets. I also checked for vacuum leaks with carb cleaner, but didn't notice anything. 

I am new to jetting carburetors, so I wondered if it was just some fuel / air mismatch I should investigate. Otherwise the car feels great, has solid throttle response and is quick off the line.  

floats.jpg

Never been a fan of electric pumps up front as I think they are better at pushing fuel than pulling fuel. That said, it may just be a loose hose clamp somewhere between the pump and the tank. This will allow a small air leak when the pump is running which reduces the volume of fuel pumped. I assume that you have also replaced all of the hose within your stewardship so that you know that there are no leaks or swollen hoses. 

I note that you appear to be using the steel return line for some reason. These have been known to get pinched shut (or partially shut) against the body. Maybe check the full length of this visually and if it was freshly used by your mechanic then it could have been standing open for years. Maybe a blow through with an airline after disconnecting the hoses at each end?

What is the typical power source for these in the trunk?