• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New To BMWfaq

Noel Saubers

New member to this site but a long time owner of 2002's, also not really savvy to forums as I am a 62 year old novice in this form of communication that thought he new a lot about the 2002 but finding out he does not know as much as he thought. Please assist me in working with the forums and about addressing question or even looking up prior threads, there is a lot of information on this site and it is intimidating.  First car I learned to drive was a 1968 1600 and first car I bought was a 1969 2002.  Currently own a 1972 tii since 1992, hence my joining of the club as I am at wits end on how the car runs.  Had the motor rebuilt 4 years ago and the car has not run well since.  Taken the car back to the shop numerous times to get it back to running like before.  Nothing seems to work, idles to slow, idles to fast, added a switch for just starting the car for extra fuel, added a new fuel pump (another bad story about buying from a known BMW vendor over the phone), just does not run well very, sluggish.  Like the Austin Powers movies, it's lost it's mojo.  The fuel injection was not rebuilt at the time of the engine rebuild but am I at that point and everything I hear about the fuel injection scares me.  Don't have a money tree in the back yard so I must solve this in my garage with my tools as I am tired of going to shops that sort of fix the issue or charge a lot to try and fix.  Any suggestions as what to do as I don't want to send the injection out to be rebuilt at a high cost and several months only to find out the mojo is still gone as well as another summer.  I live in the snow belt and the car is currently in storage so summers lately have been working on the car and not driving and I just want to drive the c