RamcoNorris

'72 Worth Saving? Pic Heavy

18 posts in this topic Last Reply

Guess I'll use this as my introduction. I'm Chris and hope to have a 2002 in the near future as my next fun/project car.

I've come across one at a local junkyard that is being auctioned off. I went and had a look at it today and it would definitely be a project. I'm curious what those with more experience than I have to say about this example. The issue being rust and if panels are available to fix the bad spots.

I know anything can be fixed with an unlimited budget. My goal would to not spend more than the car could ever be worth. My intentions with whatever car I end up with is to keep it and not trying to flip it but just want to make sure I don't go overboard. I have zero experience with rust repair so it could be a learning experience or it could find its way to a body shop. Mechanical I have no problems with, built 4 cylinder engines before, rehab suspension.....

I guess the worst case is that it could be used for parts but would rather see it saved than cut apart.

Thanks

IMG_4442.JPG

IMG_4443.JPG

IMG_4444.JPG

IMG_4445.JPG

IMG_4446.JPG

IMG_4447.JPG

IMG_4448.JPG

IMG_4449.JPG

IMG_4450.JPG

IMG_4451.JPG

IMG_4452.JPG

IMG_4453.JPG

IMG_4454.JPG

IMG_4455.JPG

IMG_4456.JPG

IMG_4457.JPG

IMG_4458.JPG

IMG_4459.JPG

IMG_4460.JPG

IMG_4461.JPG

IMG_4462.JPG

IMG_4464.JPG

IMG_4465.JPG

IMG_4466.JPG

IMG_4467.JPG

IMG_4468.JPG

IMG_4469.JPG

IMG_4470.JPG

24 minutes ago, RamcoNorris said:

1) My goal would to not spend more than the car could ever be worth.

2) I have zero experience with rust repair

3) I guess the worst case is that it could be used for parts but would rather see it saved than cut apart.

I've highlighted the parts of your premise that do not make this project a wise decision in terms of a restoration project.