Sign in to follow this  
kmoy2002

Blaupunkt Frankfurt identification and installation questions

10 posts in this topic Last Reply

I recently picked up a loose Blaupunkt radio with a very vague description on Craigslist but for $20 why not. I asked the owner what kind of car he pulled it from and he replied a 325i which seems odd since this radio appears much older than the e30 generation. Anyways, I have zero knowledge whatsoever regarding this radio and was hoping someone can shed some knowledge.

Do any board members have any insight as to which BMW model this came from? Is this period correct (I own a '73)? It appears to be a BMW supplied radio based on the co-branded Blaupunkt/BMW. I ask this so I can cross reference realoem.com for the faceplate, mounting hardware and wiring harness.

If not, does anyone know where I can get the faceplate? Do I need some sort of DIN bracket to hold the unit in? Thoughts as to where I can get the speaker harness? Appears to accept two speakers.vDPZRaO.jpg

bbRaBRn.jpgCdshPRD.jpgrOJ8Ozg.jpg

It's a Frankfurt vintage 1976 and later, it has the two rows of push buttons.  And it is stereo. BMW doesn't sell a harness of any kind and you don't need one either.  It only needs power (red), ground (brown) and speaker plugs.  If it doesn't have speaker plugs which are paired together for each channel you can buy banana plugs from an electronics store.  And it will mount with the shafts and a simple strap to hold the back up (maybe).  Faceplates can be found on eBay, seller vintageblau I believe.

A quick search yields a lot, e.g., on "Blaupunkt dating", yields lots, such as:

As Chris noted, yours is a 1976 model, albeit manufactured in 1978 ("K" prefix to the serial number). This model just caught the very last of the U.S.-spec '02's, appearing more often in U.S. e21's.  Here's an example manufactured in 1979 ("L" prefix).  I've thus far seen examples manufactured in 1977, 1978, and 1979.

Regards,

Steve

IMG_4466.JPG

IMG_4468.JPG