• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Won't idle; did a BUNCH of things... what to try next?

lazerfred

My englne kind of slowly started turning to crud a while back; it eventually lost the entire ability to idle. The only way I could keep it going without dying at every intersection was to adust the idle to like 2200 RPM. I have a weber 32/36 carb on the car. I adjusted the fuel mixture setting, as well as pulled out the two idle jets and and cleaned and blew them out. Didn't help.

So I decided to try to rebuild the carb (something I've never done before). I followed this amazing step by step guide: http://www.mk3supra.org/topic/561-guide-rebuilding-a-weber-3236-dgav-carb/)

I bought a rebuild kit off of amazon; pretty sure I did everything correctly.

But it still didn't work great.

I realized the spark plugs haven't been changed in a while; pulled and replaced them (they were mostly clean, but the number 3 had carbon on it and was kinda black; I definitely have tired rings).

Anway; the engine sounded terrific after I put the new plugs in and the rebuilt carb on; but the minute it dropped from the fast idle down low, it just sputters and dies.

I went ahead and got a new idle adjusting screw and spring; as well as a 50 and a 55 idle jets. Put them in; still runs great at higher RPM; still died at idle. The way you are supposed to adjust the idle adjusting screw is to screw it all the way in, and then back it out between .5 and 2.5 turns. I tried a bunch of positions in between; didn't seem to make any difference.

Any idea what to do next? Is it possible that the chamber where the idle adjusting screw is warped or something?

there seems to be plenty of gas coming from the tank...