California requires a visual inspection and an actual test to pass smog. I have the smog gear still (although it is currently removed), but would like to keep my car in a state to where I could still possibly pass smog by throwing my old 32/36 back on come smog time.

I am a novice when it comes to smog abatement, but would a car running larger manifolds, hotter cam, new exhaust, but with the smog equipment attached with a weak jetted 32/36 still be able to pass a CA smog check? How tough is it to differentiate a larger ported manifold vs a stock one? The visual inspector is looking at the carb, air filter and smog equipment (EGR, return hose, etc.) which could all be hooked up in a day fairly easily I imagine. 

Thoughts?

The inspector is not going to remove the manifold to check the ports, or remove the valve cover to check the lift on your camshaft, nor will he remove the cylinder head to see if you have larger valves or high compression pistons.  They WILL inspect to see that you have the correct carburetor (or a CARB/EPA certified replacement)  that ALL of the proper hoses are connected and ALL of the valves, pumps etc are in place.  They MAY check to see if the EGR valve is working,  they MIGHT pull a hose off the air pump and make sure it is actually working ( many years ago I thought about removing the impellors from inside the pump and just spinning the shaft with the belt just for the visual inspection).  They WILL look to see if it has the proper exhaust manifold (or CARB/EPA certified replacement).  They will THEN do a sniff test. 

So the quick answer is a properly running engine without much blow by can probably be tuned to pass the sniff test if you have not gone to far with camshaft overlap.  If you have all of the SMOG equipment installed and working correctly you can most likely pass but you will need to do some testing to get your fuel mixture and ignition timing adjusted to get it to pass.