burndog

Battery life

19 posts / 1275 viewsLast Reply

For all you NE guys that have to store your 02's for extended periods of time... How do you keep your batteries charged and extend the life of the battery?

My battery cranking amps seems to drop below necessary for my Megasquirted car to start in just a week or so...

Okay then. Manual trans? Park on hills only. Good to go.

Really, a unanamous Battery MINDER response. I was hoping for something more sexy. But, that's what I was considering.

Thanks!

No - I chose the Battery MINDer over the Battery Tender.

tender or minder they all serve the same purpose

I have both Battery Tenders and Griot's Garage battery minders....the Griot's are more high tech(and more $) but accomplish the same thing.  I've been using these things for over 10 years and have yet to replace a battery!  Now that I've said that, one will need replacing...LOL!  Seriously, the Gel Redtop Optima (AGM battery) in Hugo (my '72tii) is the only battery in the car since restoration was completed in 2004, and it's perfectly fine.  My garage isn't heated but it is insulated and rarely gets low enough to be freezing in there.  So, I'm sure that helps with longevity also.

John

The DieHardly in the race car has a tag on it that I put there on 02/02- I let it run down, I run it down, I charge it up, it keeps going.

And when I charge it, I use a Battery Tender Gel charger.

t