winstontj

Spot Weld Drill Bit

24 posts / 1841 viewsLast Reply

Any reason not to buy the $5 harbor freight bit over another brand?

Price ranges from $30-$40 down to the $5 bits. Will the more expensive bits last a bunch more than the inexpensive ones? Are they one-size fits all or does anyone know what size I should get?

For scope of work, I'll be disassembling a lot of the car. The rear bulkhead/firewall (hopefully not but maybe), rear shock towers, RR quarter panel (which I believe is completely riveted & bondo'd, not welded so no big deal), rocker panels, floors, parts of the front frame rails, nose, etc. 

Thanks. 

I have no experience with them, but a friend bought a spot weld bit at NAPA that has a point in the middle, instead of a drill.  You apparently punch the spot weld and that indexes the bit, which cuts around the weld, without putting a hole in the metal you are leaving.  Is the bit you are considering like that, or is it a drill bit with a cutter?

I was specifically asking about this one. Generally they all have either adjustable or fixed center points, presumably so the bit doesn't walk all over the metal. Or, should I just spend the $$ on a pneumatic like this

I have used that HF one for probably 50 welds. Still going strong. I always use a little cutting fluid to help preserve it.

I got to harbor freight for all of my consumable tool needs. Although I have not used that one in particular, the myriads of other drill bits / flap disks/grinding disks / cut off wheels etc I've used stand up just fine. Its only when I really abuse them do they burn up on me...which would probably be true of any other tool.

Honestly, I'm not a fan, except in specific situations.  A cobalt bit that's quite a bit smaller is my tool of choice.

And then I adjust the holes as needed for re- welding.  

Yes, they work.  Yes, they leave a nice hole for plug welding.  They're just liable to head off in random directions when you're least expecting it.