• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hemmings Stock Exchange - 2002tii

John_in_VA

Nice article but I'm perplexed by their take on tii values. $22.7K for tiis? I'd love to find me some of those! Perhaps they mean average values, including everything from restoration projects to pristine examples. Everything we've seen over the past decade and certainly as of late suggests that tii values indeed have "skyrocketed" contrary to Hemmings's depiction of the so-called "affordable" buy. Am I missing something?

COOP

Edited by COOP

The writer, Terry Shea sounds like someone whose name is vaguely familiar but I can't quite place.

A few quibbles with his article:

I've been playing with BMW 2002's for 25 years and I've never seen a Close ratio 4 speed transmission as

built by Getrag and available in a 2002. Getrag 235\5 Close ratio 5 speeds for sure but they were and are

somewhat uncommon and pricy. And squarelites and Roundie Tii's are priced the same. Really ? I'm thinking

the HMN pricing is a bit behind the curve given what's been happening in the marketplace recently.

Grassroots Motorsports just published a list of collector cars, comparing their 2012 pricing versus 2014

pricing for the same #2 condition car. Example: 1988 BMW M3 17,300/44,000 for a mere 154 % increase in 2

years. 1977 Porsche Turbo 44,300/130,000 for a mere 193 % increase in 2 years. A little closer to reality, 1984 Porsche 911 Carrerra Coupe 29,100/37,600 for a 29% gain over 2 years. While these examples obviously

are above our beloved 2002's place in the Automotive Food Chain, their pricing apparently is impacting the

market as the theory of Substitute goods comes into play. Can't afford an early 911 ? Buy a BMW 2002 for