6 posts / 963 viewsLast Reply

I'm sure this has been done before, but I wanted to see if anyone has any photos or advice.  I'd like to add air conditioning to my '75 to deal with these Atlanta summers, but all of the aftermarket center consoles look, well, aftermarket.  I want to keep the stock look, so that would mean hiding the evaporator in the engine bay and routing some vent tubing to direct the air into the cabin somewhere.  Is there a reason I shouldn't do this?  Does the engine bay get too hot?  Maybe the glovebox is a better option?  Those with experience please chime in, I'm new to the A/C game.

The longest single chapter in my book is about a/c repair and retrofit. I doubt there's enough room in the 2002's engine compartment to put an evaporator assembly. As you probably know, there were three dealer-installed a/cs in 2002s -- Fridge King, Behr, and Clardy, each with their own console surrounding the evap assembly. Many folks, including me, think the Behr unit has the most factory-looking console. There were also, back in the day, aftermarket units available where the evap assembly mounted in the trunk, but they're extremely rare, and you're trading off the trunk location for longer refrigeration and ducting lines, all of which cut into efficiency.

Find a Behr system and be happy. You are going to have to hack up the firewall to get blower vents into the cabin.

Could technically be possible to fit an evaporator under the back seat but again where would you have the cold air come out? Plus the AC freon lines would have to run through the interior to the back seat.

http://www.bmw2002faq.com/_/technical-articles/body-and-interior/air-conditioning-basics-r126