• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Blaupunkt Radio Help.

aholderith

Hello everyone, I am new to the FAQ having just purchased a '74 Chamonix. The car came with a Blaupunkt Radio and speaker grill, and I have a few questions about it.

1. How much current do I run it with? 1A?

2. Does it drive 4ohm speakers?

3. Does anyone know what kind of oval speaker will fit on the mounting points? I measured the speaker size at 3.5x6in but I can't find drivers that size anywhere online.

4. Are there any wiring diagrams or examples that I can use to wire this thing properly? It seems pretty straightforward but i've never wired a radio before, and i'm not sure which lead is ground, as it's not labeled.

5. Antenna recommendations? Where should I put it?

6. Reccomended amplifiers? (the car has 4 existing, unwired speakers in the car, one in each door panel and two oval ones behind the rear seats, so 5 total including the one in the existing speaker grill.

I've attached some photos of the radio for reference. 

post-47685-0-29563500-1419113250_thumb.j

post-47685-0-49439700-1419113282_thumb.j

post-47685-0-68647100-1419113319_thumb.j

post-47685-0-18362100-1419113367_thumb.j

1. How much current do I run it with? 1A?

The lead should have an in-line fuse in it; if not, you should add one, then wire to a terminal on the ignition switch that is hot only when the ignition switch is on.  That's the way the factory shows to wire it.  Since those terminals aren't fused, you need an in-line fuse to protect both the radio and your car's wiring.

2. Does it drive 4ohm speakers?  

I believe so...just common everyday auto radio speakers...