Stolen image

BillWilliams

Interesting question and an interesting find. The first thing is to take it as a compliment, albeit a back-handed one.

As a long-time pro photographer, I have had images stolen (as previously recounted on the forum, one time ROUNDEL took a pic of mine from a photo shoot I did for AUTOWEEK and published it in the early '90s - the photo was of an '02 at a Jamaican road rally. When I contacted ROUNDEL they apologized and said they had no budget for paid photos. Never did get a copy of the magazine).

Anyhow, if the web site is not based in the USA you are out of luck. If it is an American company with a bona fide address etc. and the image is a faithful reproduction of your photo, you can get a court order - assuming you take the time to prove the image is yours - and have the company stop marketing it. Or you can sue for royalties, again assuming you establish provenence.

In other words, a substantial amount of time/money for something that may not be actually worthwhile. Regardless, you would need a lawyer to sort out the options unless you have a talent for representing yourself in obscure courtrooms.

Pulling out my artist cap here from doing illustrations .....

From a theoretical sense you'd have a case.  To implement it, especially if it's international, would not be practical. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My opinion is to figure out what you want ....

Financial compensation for copyright violation: (not going to happen without investing much more than any potential settlement.  Then add the whole international aspect.)

-----With that option out, it really depends on how amiable the artist is and how you approach it (start off with a bunch of threats is not a recipe for success).

A cut of the selling price of each print:  Not very likely to happen.

To stop commercially profiting from the print:  Possible.

To get a print (and maybe an extra or two):  Very possible.