1978 320I 5 Speed For 2002

Mort

Hello,

I have a 1976 2002 automatic that mechanically is very stock. (I still have the solex carb!) I am new to the car and love it but I have been lusting after a 5 speed. Recently I heard about a 1978 320i that reportedly has a good 2.0 engine and a 5 speed. I have not looked at it yet, as it is several hours away, but wonder if this could be a good donor car for my 76. From what I can tell from online info, this 5 speed could be an early year option or a swap from a later year 320i. I have a few questions that I hope the very knowledgable members of this forum can help me with.

1. If this is an early year 5 speed, is that an issue at all? Most of the online info talk about later year 320i's.

2. From my reading, I believe I can use the flywheel. Any problems?

3. What about the pedal box, clutch master cylinder, etc. ?

4. Would it just be easier to swap in both the engine and transmission? Fuel injection is a big plus in my mind, especially after fighting with hot engine starting on my solex carb.

5. I would likely pull and swap the rear brakes, any other must swap items?

Thanks in advance for all the help!

Mort

Some answers/thoughts:

1. If this is an early year 5 speed, is that an issue at all? Most of the online info talk about later year 320i's.

Two liter E21s didn't come with 5 speeds (they have 3.64 diffs and 4 speeds; 1.8 liter cars hve 3.90s and 5 speeds) so make sure  the car actually has a five speed gearbox.  All E21 5 speeds will work on your car but the three piece case 5 speeds (80-81 cars) are reckoned to be sturdier than the later two piece cases (82-83)

2. From my reading, I believe I can use the flywheel. Any problems?

I belive that all E21 engines came with 215mm flywheels; it'll bolt right onto your 2002 engine.  Check archives for the proper throwout bearing to use--my conversion was to a 228mm flywheel, which uses a different T/O bearing.
3. What about the pedal box, clutch master cylinder, etc. ?