Need Help From The Experts...

Bolson1982

I'm new to the community. I have been reading up on the 2002 for a while now and recently pulled the trigger on the following car...

http://m.ebay.com/itm?itemId=161436566044#

I have placed the deposit and will be flying to California next week to view the car in person before completing the purchase.

So as the title says...I need help from the experts of the 2002 community. Basically looking for advice on what should I be looking for? The description is pretty detailed and the seller is a huge bmw enthusiast and had a pretty expensive collection of BMW's

Thank in advance! In not a complete novice, but I would like all the info anyone can provide.

Nice early car, appears rust-free. Don't care for the wheels or the interior upholstery, but that is just me.

Covering schawrz on front grill is wrong too but that can be rectified in a jiffy if you prefer correctness.

rear view mirrors are wrong for the year - but maybe originality isn't a big issue you or the seller.

Fancy mods to the engine bay beyond my level of knowledge but better make sure they check out

Also, look for bondo under all that shiny Verona paint!

Here is the info from the VIN given:

V.I.N. 1669546 Modelo BMW 2002 Región USA Versión (LHD) Volante a la izquierda Transmisión Mecánico Carrocería 114 Generación Pre 71 Año 1969 Producción ene-69 - dic-69

A couple of things.  It says it's restored but definitely not to a stock interior, so you may want to think about whether you want stock or not.  Seats have no head rests.  Trunk interior not the same color as body?  Not sure if the blueprinted engine would give 180hp even with the mods.  My 71 has same cam with 9.5 compression, ported polished E12 head, weber 38/38 but nowhere near 180hp.  Engine sounds very noisy at idle and a lot more noisier than mine.   The price seems fair for what they say went into the car but if it were me I would have another reputable shop look it over before deciding.