wergert

Newbie Needs Help...

16 posts in this topic Last Reply

So I'm new to basically everything mechanical, but I came across a 2002 with an M42 swap last fall. I put it in storage after driving it for a few months and I went to start it the other day and it started up perfect, moved it back and forth in the unit it's stored it, everything worked. I go to start it yesterday and like the idiot I am I left it in reverse when I was starting it. The rear wheels slid the tarp out from under them and it didn't start because I forgot to switch on the fuel pump ground. I switched the fuel pump on and started it but then the transmission was stuck in reverse. I popped it out with some force and it worked almost perfectly through every gear. I go today to start it up and the clutch pedal goes straight to the floor. What did I mess up this time?

If it´s been sitting you might not have messed up at all. If it´s been sitting the seals in the clutch cylinders tend to get stuck and harden, so when you start working the clutch the seals crack up. Or at least doesn´t seal anymore. Any fluid under the car? The reservoir is filled up?

Also, if you get a leak in the break system might notice it first using the clutch. The hose on the reservoir for the clutch is higher than the brakes, so first clutch goes away - then brakes. German safety thinking. That´s how I noticed my master brake cylinder was shot.

There is a very small puddle of greenish fluid up by the radiator so I'm assuming that's coolant. Otherwise it's dry. So if its the seals then would the master cylinder have to be replaced or rebuilt? How can I tell if its the clutch master cylinder or brake master cylinder? Would regular use get the pedal pressurized?

(edited)