oh2ryan

5 Lug Suspension Quandary: E30 M3 Vs. Z3 M

13 posts / 2893 viewsLast Reply

Hey guys,

I need some help in figuring out which of the following suspension options is more ideal for the 2002 project I am just about to begin. I am very new to 2002s, but have plenty of e30 experience.

I am positively going to 5- lug swap my 2002. I enjoy not only the wheel choices and brake upgrades, but also I enjoy putting in the time and thought on the more unusual and challenging projects. I want this 2002 to stand out, and for all the modifications to flow well together.

Background information:

The chassis is a 1974 2002, no sunroof. The car will be getting an m20b25 temporarily until my s14 can be reworked and built up to one day be swapped in. I’ll be running a Getrag 265/5 dogleg close ratio gearbox behind the m20/s14 (I have both bell housings to make this work). Also being used are both e30 front and rear sub frames modified to bolt onto the 2002 chassis. The sub frame swaps allow for a Z3 steering rack to be installed, engines mounted simply, and of course allows for the 5 lug trailing arms to be bolted up in the back of the car.

First swap option: full e30 M3 suspension components. This set up offers 280mm/ 282mm rotor sizes front/ rear. Large wheel bearings are an advantage, and this set up changes track width exactly the same as the standard e30 4x100 trailing arm (this measurement I cannot accurately find, to those who have done it please chime in). 15” wheels are the minimum size using e30 m3 parts