• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help Identifying This Engine

mrbgag

First, a little history.

I am helping an estate rid itself of items, one of these items is a 2002 car set up for track racing, if thats the proper term. For instance, it was raced one or twice at Watkins Glen in New York.

Anyway, the owner bought this engine with the plan on rebuilding it and putting it in the 2002. i have no experience with these cars / engines. I DO KNOW he was VERY excited when he found this, and to him it was a "rare find".

Its come time to get rid of it, and i am hoping these pictures will we one of you experts to ID the type of motor it is.

Any help would be appriciated. Following this, there MAY be a car as well, but so far it seems to be tied up with a family member.

Andy

post-46919-0-05981600-1395323303_thumb.j

post-46919-0-21078100-1395323314_thumb.j

post-46919-0-50696600-1395323322_thumb.j

post-46919-0-15119200-1395323333_thumb.j

post-46919-0-09963900-1395323346_thumb.j

post-46919-0-57670600-1395323761_thumb.j

post-46919-0-74338500-1395323773_thumb.j

For starters, it's a 2002 tii motor, which is to say it's a fuel injected motor.  It's missing intake runners, plastic injector fuel lines, throttle linkage parts, and throttle body, among other things.  The owner's excitement may have been due to the motor's internal parts (would require more investigation, and possibly disassembly of the motor), the motor's history, or perhaps the simple fact that the owner always wanted to tinker with fuel injection after having spent years tinkering with carburetors.  Who knows?