• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Why Is My Tach Oscillating?

For the last few months my tach needle has been erratic. Not dropping below actual rpm, but jumping higher.  Much higher.

Firstly, this is a 100% stock tii with near new coil, wires, condenser, plugs.  I have the Diagnostic Tool from Pat Allen as well, and it reads the same erratic fluctuation, like the tachometer.

My first thought is that it's a surge in current, but I'm not experienced enough to determine where more current would be generated.

It seems especially bad when the engine is cold, or when the actual rpms are 2500+.  It's less erratic when the engine is warm.

I've checked grounds and have added a ground to the back of the instrument cluster.  Unless I've missed a ground somewhere I'm at a loss.

Condenser, distributor, coil, short?

Any experience with this glitch or engine electrical knowledge that could cause this would be appreciated.

Thanks for reading and replying.

73 Inka Tii #2762958

Have a spare coil? Swap that out and see what happens.

-Nathan
'76 2002 in Malaga (110k Original, 2nd Owner, sat for 20 years and now a toy)
'86 Chevy K20 (6.2 Turbo Diesel build) & '46 Chevy 2 Ton Dump Truck
'74 Suzuki TS185, '68 BSA A65 Lightning (garage find), '74 BMW R90S US Spec #2

Be sure the spade terminal at the coil or dizzy is tight, if loose it isn't making a good contact. Same thing happens with water temp sensor on the water divider.

HBChris

`73 3.0CS Chamonix, `69 2000 NK Atlantik

`70 2800 Polaris, `79 528i Chamonix

Be sure the spade terminal at the coil or dizzy is tight, if loose it isn't making a good contact. Same thing happens with water temp sensor on the water divider.

+1