2000C Paint Choice

fsf517@yahoo.com

Hi everyone. I'm a bit new to the BMW experience. A month ago I bought a 76 2002, stuck engine, that project is going well. But since then I purchased a 1968 2000c. Kind of a 2 car deal. This car is completely disassembled now. On Tuesday 12-3-13 the shell is getting sandblasted , and then directly to the paint shop. The body is near perfect and should be sprayed in just a few days.

This car is originally white, perhaps it's called chamonix not sure. But that seems to be the only white offered that year.

So, my painter wants to use a base coat clear coat. But part of me wants to use an enamel single stage. I feel it's a bit more authentic and it's a harder finish. I personally am not overly interested in a super perfect finish, that I know only a clear coat can achieve. Also the clear is more easily touched up should the car get damaged during re-assembly.

So the BIG QUESTION!!!

Base coat / clear coat?

OR

Enamel single stage?

Looking for some expert opinions

Thanks, fred

I think it really depends on what you're going for.  If you just want a good, durable finish you're probably better off with a two-stage paint that will (as you noted) be easier to touch up and will be a lot more resistant to fading.  On the other hand, I don't think clear-coat paints quite look right on an old car, although it depends on the color.

Well dbmw2002 your talking my language. I really feel the enamel especially the pastel colors hold a whole different charm than the clear coats. I'm not sure everyone sees it. So I guess it's a single stage chamonix white. Now the next big question. Should I leave the boring original automatic that positions park at the bottom and shift to drive by moving the lever forward and is really cool, or go with a stick shift? That one I have time to think on. Thanks for the feedback.

Fred

Jgerock that is a sweet one. Looks enamel in the pics. Is that your take?