Sf Bay Area O2'er Willing To Help With Valve Adjusting

cjeria

Hello Bay Area 02'ers,

I'm a complete beginner to 02's and could use help adjusting valves on my 75 02. I'm specifically having trouble locating the crankshaft nut/pulley to turn the engine. I'm also not sure how to tell if my rocker is positioned at TDC to properly adjust the valves (this is my first time). I'm a quick learner if I can see how it's done first.

I've search the web for videos of someone performing a valve job on an 02, and nothing's come up. I've read also all posts dedicated to valve adjustments here on bmw2002faq, but would still like to see the process in person, if possible. 

If anyone is willing to help, I would be forever grateful. Please let me know!

Best,

Christian

chjeria@gmail.com

Remove the spark plugs so the engine is easy to turn over, and if your alternator belt is tensioned properly you can use the alternator pulley nut to turn the engine over clockwise with a socket and ratchet. If the belt slips, you can add more tension to the belt with your hand while turning the engine. I use the fan to turn the engine on my tii (with the plugs removed of course) since the alternator is hard to get to from the top with the injection pump in the way.

Do you have a shop manual? It should show how to determine TDC on cylinder #1 using the timing mark under the distributor cap and the flywheel and/or crank pulley marks. Once you get that figured out, you will notice that the cylinder #1 rocker arm pads are resting on the "base circles" of the camshaft, and the pointed lobes are facing down. You should be able to wiggle both of the rocker arms, indicating that they are closed and there is clearance between the #1 rockers and valve stems. After setting the valve clearances through much trial and error, rotate the engine 180 degrees while watching the #3 camshaft lobes. Repeat for each cylinder in the firing order.