I have been building engines for about 30 years or so but can't seem to get a straight answer on factory e10 crankshaft strength. I am building a "budget" performer and need to know the crank material ( I.e. 4340 chromoly , 5140 chromoly, ) in order to calculate max stress and RPM that it can tolerate. Also, are any high volume oil pumps available for this engine series? Any insight would be very helpfull.

If you get near 700 hp, maybe think about oil pump improvements?

This guy swapped an m30 rotor into the stock 02 pump, for a bit of an improvement, and he has 740rwhp.

http://www.bmw2002faq.com/topic/119432-m10-dyno-world-record/

I can't find where he made any improvements to the stock crank.

Sorry that this isn't commonly known information, because these parts don't break.  With a 'budget' build you'll get nowhere near their limits.  Worry about rockers and other valvetrain parts instead (IE HD rockers are working well for me). 

A completely stock crank can put up with a hell of a lot of abuse. You'll likely destroy main bearings long before the crank lets go. A balanced stock crank is likely good up to 10,000 rpm of continued use. As said before, the bottom end is not what you have to worry about, it's the top end. 

I have been building engines for about 30 years or so but can't seem to get a straight answer on factory e10 crankshaft strength. I am building a "budget" performer and need to know the crank material ( I.e. 4340 chromoly , 5140 chromoly, ) in order to calculate max stress and RPM that it can tolerate.

I like math and calculations... but have never done it for the M10 crankshaft.

My own empirical data: I lightened an M10 crankshaft by six pounds, have run it in a full race engine with nearly 160HP at the wheels for 80+ hours without issue. (Is there a calculation to translate race hours to street hours?)

Also: Suggest checking M10 crankshafts for straightness. -KB