Trim Suggestions: Chrome Plating Vs Re-Polishing / Finishing

Hey. I am new to the 2002 owners club. I just purchased a 1971 2002 and I am looking into various options in getting my trim looking its best....

Ive seen some show cars with extremely good looking trim, to the point where I am wondering if they had it chrome plated, vs just cleaning & polishing the aluminum. 

Has anyone had experience with this? i.e getting your trim chrome plated? if so, what is the process involved and costs? I would assume hey have to first copper plate it, then chrome it?

Also, I'm terms of costs in general would it

1) be better to take off all my trim -- use this method (

) to clean it, and then apply some Mother's Mag & Aluminum polish and put on a clear coat after to protect ( approx $50 in supplies + time and effort to get it polished ) 

OR

2) buy new OEM trim and assume its already perfectly polished ( approx $800 ) 

3) take the trim I have and get it chromed ( I would assume approx $1200 although not sure on costs here....) 

Im not necessarily looking just at the price, but more so the best and longest lasting option that will keep my trim looking its best. I live up in the NW where we get those rainy / soggy days and I would be worried if I stripped all the anodizing off my trim that it would get clouded up every other month or so. 

Anywho, I would appreciate any help / advice / suggestions. 

Thanks, 

CaseyW

On 7/29/2013 at 8:34 AM, eurotrash said:

New would be the simplest route. And probably the least expensive overall. And the finish will last.

+1