Classic "easy Diy" Story

I am new to DIY. That is a warning.

The rear brake sensor for my 09' 328xi was triggered after my last track event in June, so I figured it was time to replace my brake pads. I figured I would do fronts and back with new rotors just to keep things balanced. Besides, the front's were not far behind anyway. I ordered both parts and a new rear brake sensor.

While I was planning, I noted some rust on the rear calipers, so bought some caliper paint. I jacked my car up to put on stands, but then realized my jack stands would require an adapter for the modern bmw mounts. I measured and cut 4 out of wood. Problem solved my car was safe on jackstands.

I watched a 13 minute step by step you tube video of the procedure from start to finish. Easy.

Now this is a winter driven car. Getting the calipers off was not difficult aside from every bolt in the rear being rusted on for dear life. The rotors were rusted on. The rubber mallet worked for the fronts (some surface rust up here, most was in the back) with effort. The rears only dropped rust with each hit. 150$ later I ordered a rotor puller. It worked like a charm, except that the rotor was rusted to the parking brakes (yes the parking brakes were off for the job). A few clips were strained, but I think all went well in the end.

My second child was born. I worked on the car after my daughter went to bed at 7pm, until 10pm, where upon I stopped my garage work and was on baby night call until 1am. I worked a real job days 8-4 or 5.