Newbie Owner!

Poloace

I am now the very proud owner of a 71 2002. Just picked her up today. Car looks beautiful, but there's def issues I aim to address.

1- in shifting from 2nd to 3rd, the car grinds a bit. If I let the rpms drop close to zero with the clutch in and then shift from 2 to 3, there's no grind. Does that suggest that it's a synchro issue? Also, have been reading a lot about redline transmission fluid... Would placing that maybe help my problem?

2- the right tail light is out, but, it still works upon braking. This I think I should be able to tinker w and fix.

(You can tell I'm a super newbie)

Thanks to all. Looking forward to making amazing things happen.

Congrats.

Munchy shift from 2nd to 3rd, but no munch when engine isn't revved, does indicate it's likely a synchro issue. 2002s are famous for wearing out 2nd gear synchro, but 3rd certainly is possible. You can try Redline MTL, may help it a little. Does it also munch going from 4th to 3rd, and then not munch if you double-clutch and match revs? If so, very likely a synchro issue.

change all fluids like Right NOW  with redline stuff,or whatever the faq likes the most,,,,,,,,,,,then put your rig on jacks and touch/stare /massage/photograph/hitheadon :wacko: /paint/lube, everything ;enjoy it like you are the first owner.

edit2x I prolonged crunchyshift w redline :D

Edited by ndog

the gear change crunchies ..... 

my red-faced story is that for decades I used Hypoid gear oil in the transmission.  Just last year I finally discovered my error and switched to Redline MTL in the transmission and no more gear change crunchies.

What I learned was that Hypoid is too slippery for a transmission ..... sounds bizarre at best.  BUT, since using a non-hypoid in the trans:  no more crunchies.

http://www.bmw2002faq.com/topic/135183-manual-transmission-gear-oil-use-the-right-stuff/

http://www.bmw2002faq.com/topic/134648-to-use-redline-mtl-or-not/

Cheers,

Carl