• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Running Too Cold?

FunElan

So my car has been running warm for a while, and almost overheated a couple of times. This week while driving 20 feet from the ocean (love LA), it was running about 3/4 of the way up, which is not normal. Decided to steal my father's freshly redone radiator, and swapped that in with new BMW blue coolant. Now the car runs really cold, which is refreshing since I've been running warm, but I'm wondering if it's not healthy for the engine. Can I keep running it like this or do I need a hotter thermostat?

Here's the radiator I was running, the touch of my finger disintegrates all of the fins! These holes were there before I started playing with it though.

post-34561-0-63905900-1369168075_thumb.j

Old vs. New

post-34561-0-68794600-1369168178_thumb.j

Where the temp gauge stands. 

post-34561-0-94215100-1369168210_thumb.j

'68 Caribe 1600-1563167

so had you installed a cooler thermostat to compensate for that

nasty rotten radiator ?

if yes

then it's time to reinstall the original 'hotter' thermostat

YES = you do harm to your motor if the coolent never

reaches 176+*F degrees

'86 R65 650cc #6128390 22,000m
'64 R27 250cc #383851 18,000m
'11 FORD Transit #T058971 28,000m "Truckette"
'13 500 ABARTH #DT600282 6,666m "TAZIO"

...or your thermostat's simply stuck, and the extra cooling is translating to... extra coolness...

Get a new t- stat.

t

"I learn best through painful, expensive experience, so I feel like I've gotten my money's worth." MattL