• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Motor Swap And Fi Conversion Questions

Alright, so hang with me here. I'm really trying to get a grasp on everything and having a hard time figuring out what I am trying to figure out. I'm a mechanical newbie and my 02 is the first car I've ever worked on myself.

*As a disclaimer, all the plans I have (and that will be listed below) will have supervision and help from people who are more mechanically smart than I am.* (good grammar Jack. This post is a surefire winner)

My situation is this:

My stock 02 M10 is tired. It has leaky gaskets, the carb needs rebuilding, the transmission isn't super peppy, etc. I really want to do some sort of fuel injection set up. Being the impulsive dumby that I am, I recently went and picked up a recently rebuilt M10 out of a 1980 320i and a G245 out of an 82 320i. It did not come with the intake manifold, throttle body, or sensors necessary to set up the fuel injection. I didn't really understand fully what all was required in doing this swap. So now I'm left with a solid engine (I'm told it has about 5-10k miles on it since the rebuild) without any of the parts that would be necessary to run fuel injection, the ECU from the 1980 320i and a 5 speed.

*Let's all take a moment to observe Jack's stupidity. *

My confusion: