Law Enforcement Has Issues With My Exhaust...

So I have a 1976 2002 with an M42 swap in it, and I have been pulled over a few times because my exhaust is "too loud". I have a full size muffler, full size resonator, and 2 catalytic convertors. I will admit even with all this it is still pretty loud. I have a feeling that the cops are just being a**holes but what can I do to fix it? 

Are you using the stock cat from the 318? I made my own for my e30 with 2.5 right off the cat. I have never been able to get rid of the rasp. I think it comes from the non smooth transition from the cat into the 2.5. Like blowing into a trumpet.

Good luck.

John

Oh, man does that bring back a memory.  November, 1972, freshman year in college, Triumph TR4A with a cherry bomb for a "muffler".  I had been scaring dogs and small children for six months with the loudest 4-cylinder, three main bearing engine in the city.  Going to class, driving down a valley, the noise echoing off the walls, it was finally too much for a local who wrote me up for "loud muffler".  He was right.  I'm sure I was overconfident because the week before I had passed a car on a two lane road with a solid line while taking my date home.  The car behind me was Major Mapes, head of the police department.  Red lights, warning to behave myself, etc. etc.

True story.  Ah, the misspent years of youth.  How did we survive?

Cheers!

Michael

Edited by mfbanres

Are you in California?

I had the same problem with my 16v Scirocco in Southern Cal, although I will admit, it was a little loud.  I was young and didn't care, but I was setting off car alarms.  I only got one fix-it ticket and I simply put the stock one back on, took it to get inspected, and then put the Magnaflow back on.  Pain in the ass, but had to be done.  That was 12 years ago though and I'm sure the LEO's have tightened down even further.