Realistic Horsepower Numbers

Tangmere

Go to solution Solved by 2002inseattle,

Hello all!

I have a question. I am new to the 02 scene, and have done a little research, but have not been able to find a thread on the forum that really touches this subject without drilling down deep into lots of places.

What are the realistic HP numbers our little hot rods will producce reliably? What kind of numbers does the group have? feel free to list general mods to get where you are HP wise.

I apologise if this is a dead horse subject, and if there is a link to a post, please let me know!

Thanks!

it is a topic that has been beat to death repeatedly, but,  100-150hp (crank) is reliable range.  where in that range depends on the infinite number of mod options.

this is for a non-turbo M10.  once you get out of that box, the possibilities get out of control..

hardly anyone here actually does dyno runs to document numbers, so most reponses tend to be "butt dyno guesses".

Edited by mlytle

• Solution

it is a topic that has been beat to death repeatedly, but,  100-150hp (crank) is reliable range.  where in that range depends on the infinite number of mod options.

this is for a non-turbo M10.  once you get out of that box, the possibilities get out of control..

hardly anyone here actually does dyno runs to document numbers, so most reponses tend to be "butt dyno guesses".

I like that, "butt dyno".  I'm going to have to use that!

Thanks for the response, i do appreaciate it. So 98 from the factory (75 carbed) and reliable power up in the 150 range with standard modifications. Power to Weight makes that butt dyno go crazy. That will difinately feel like a hot rod. Marshall, your link looks to be down. I was guessing you had some pearls on your page.

Thanks!