• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

DESPERATLEY IN NEED OF HELP!

korvettel46

Hi everybody! Thanks for offering a great forum.

This is my first visit.

I really could use some guidance.! I'm in the process of purchasing an 02 that needs a hood. I thought I'd do a little leg work prior to finalizing the purchase, so I started searching the web for a quality used hood with no luck. Now I must say I am a rookie, well maybe just below a rookie when it comes to the 02. Could someone advise me to a viable source or sources to purchase a hood and the possible cost$$ as this will be a factor in the final offered price for the car. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Pete

Pete--welcome. As a baseline, a brand new hood from an online BMW dealer is currently $828.44. This is part number 41615480000 (look it up on RealOEM.com) and is for years 03/1966-07/1976.

Good chance someone on the FAQ has a hood for you, or you can look at salvage yards and BMW used parts specialty shops. Shipping a hood by freight is not inexpensive, so finding one locally is best. Price ranges from free to $100 to more depending on condition.

Suggest you retitle your message something like "need help finding a hood". You'll get more responses with a specific ask and lack of a hood is not exactly a dire situation.

Best of luck--Fred '74tii and '69

--Fred

'74tii (Colorado) track car

'69ti (Black/Red/Yellow) rolling resto track car

'73tii (Fjord....RIP)

Pete,

I would further suggest you visit the "Parts For Sale" section of the board and see the various posts there to get an idea of hood prices. You may find one advertised for sale.

You may also want to check out the "Parts Wanted" portion of the this board and post a wanted ad.

Good luck and welcome.

Pierre

O==00==O