• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need garage finishing tips (insulation, floor,etc)

KFunk

OK, so I have this huge attached garage that a previous owner built, but didn't finish. I want to be able to work on all the vehicles in the winter time fairly comfortably, and be able to move them in and out fairly easily.

I don't want some kind of dream garage, or to start spending all my time on garage forums. Just simple, economical, durable stuff. If it gets too expensive or work-intensive, then it'll never happen.

I just need to add insulation, wall board of some sort, ceiling boards, decent lighting, seal the floor, etc. For heating I'll probably just carry around my little propane heater and put it wherever I'm working.

I'm fairly new to doing this type of work myself, and need advice on the best materials to use.

I saw tons of floor sealing gimmicks at Menard's. What's the best for the money?

How much insulation, and what type?

Drywall, wood paneling, or what other type of wall boards (if any)?

How many lights, and of what style do you think? It'll brighten up quite a bit if I have white walls, then I figure at least a flourescent fixture over each place I might be working on a car.

There's currently no drain in the floor, for unknown reasons. Any solutions for that, which wouldn't involve tearing up concrete? Normally it's not a problem, but right now the Subaru is dragging in snow.