Collinster742002

30,000 for a 76 automatic?!

12 posts / 951 viewsLast Reply

are those re-dished chromed stock steelies? looks badass.

Price does seem a bit high, expecially for a '76 in CA, but before you condemn the automatics I respectively suggest you spend some time driving one.

I've been driving my '75 automatic daily for the past 31 yrs. and I love it. This after spending 29 yrs. driving, racing (SCCA), autocrossing (extensively), and time-trialing 356 Porsches. So I have a few hundred thousand manual shifts under my belt (hand?).

One needs to learn how to drive an automatic '02. You don't just put it in drive and let the tranny shift for you. The T-handle between the seats is movable and you need to do so.

At the 1995 O'Fest Autocross, in Colorado, because I had a 38/38 Weber and 14" wheels on an otherwise stock automatic, I was moved up into a class with tiis. I still managed to take first in class.

Now this may have been due to the course being wet, and I'd done all my competing in Porsches in the Pacific Northwest, where it's been know to rain on occassion, my car had less HP than the tiis and resulted in less wheel spin coming out of corners, and being able to leave my car in 1st gear with no shifting. But, nonetheless, I won my class.

So, before condemning the automatics, try to learn a little more about them.

Bob Napier

post-20861-13667667329329_thumb.jpg

If it had a 5 speed, $30K for a stock (albeit it very nice) 2002 is way high. Yesterday there was another influx of the high priced spread, one "restored" for $30K, another for $26K.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-2002-2-Door-Coupe-1973-BMW-Completely-restored-/150963638593?pt=US_Cars_Trucks&hash=item2326225141

This one has some serious drivetrain upgrades:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-2002-2-door-170-horsepower-2-4L-5-speed-/330843326560?pt=US_Cars_Trucks&hash=item4d07cc8860