mudchemist

Chassis Dolly Fabrication

4 posts / 2233 viewsLast Reply

I posted pictures of the chassis dolly I built for my Otto-Bot racecar project and received requests for measurements. I will put those details below. I am sure a few of you have some ideas and comments to make things easier, better, and most importantly, safer.

Disclaimer

I am not an engineer or a welder. To most of you I am a stranger. Think about that before you build a dolly using any of this info and crawl under your car. A 2002 doesn't weigh much...until it lands on you.

I bought a caged chassis as pictured below. The owner would not part with the dolly so I had to return it and build my own. The basic design I used is similiar, but you will see some fabrication differences such as butt welded joints versus my overlapped box assembly. I like this dolly because the angled front supports make it easy to pickup the rear and tilt it onto a trailer. (Try using ramps with 5" swivel castors if you like getting hurt)

Old Dolly

2012-11-09_09-51-54_348_zpsfb567cb0.jpg

My finished dolly

1354409590255_zps3de5a3b6.jpg

1354409627529_zps4a030f50.jpg

What you need:

5 8' Sticks of square tubing. I used 2" at 0.125" thickness. You will have a little left over.

8-10" of 1" round tubing. Big box store. (I think this is the weakest link...think about beefing this up.)

2-3' lengths of 3/16" thick by 2" wide flat bar. You need this for the front subframe mounts plus gussets. Big box store.

You can use your front/rear subframe bolts for attachement, or go to 3/4" x 5"+ bolts in the rear with washers.

Good drill bits for the 17 mm bolt holes in the flat bar.

Chop saw if you have one.

Mig or Tig welder. You could go gasless but you want to buy it....go ahead.

Grinder to clean up cuts.

4 5" Harbor freight swivel castors sku 38711.

Framing square - magnetic squaring tool

Band Aids.

Beer.

More band aids if you have beer.

Health insurance if you have beer and bandaids don't work.