• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Looking at an 02 this weekend! Help!

n.dino

Ok, so Im heading out to look at this 1974 2002tii. Very excited however just like any buyer I have to think of the negatives. What should I be looking for? Any common problems or signs. It would be my first 02 so I'm new to the entire 2002 world.

P.S. if anyone wants to know

Recent maintance:

New ATE Super Blue brake fluid

New Ireland Engineering urethane motor mounts

New carpets & Coco Mats

New distributor cap, rotor, points

New front & rear seat upholstery

New fuel & air filters

New motor oil & coolant

New spark plugs & wires

Timing, idle, & air:fuel tuning

Valve adjustment

Guest Anonymous

If this is your first o2 take someone along that knows these cars, experience is invaluable. Rust can hide on a o2, my deal breaker is rust on the rockers, strip that runs from wheel to wheel below the doors, about 1500 each to have profesionaly repaired. Look under the car, a key phrase, the condition on the underside will tip you to overall reall condition. Under the spare tire, under both bumper areas, under the doors, under the shock towers, and def under the carpet, all these are common rust areas.If rust free you will have something, if rusty you will have a 3 k rusty car, sage words, rust is the only thing that matters, everything else can be fixed. Nice finds, any price posted?

Dave

Dave, thanks for your input. The guy is asking 9,000 for it and I don't know it that is fair price. What do you guys think from the pictures. It doesn't look too bad with rust on the pictures above.