Lowcountry2002

Just rebuilt carb...couple of questions

9 posts / 558 viewsLast Reply

With everyone's help and this link, I rebuilt my first carb yesterday--only took 6 hours! :)

http://www.bmw2002faq.com/component/option,com_forum/Itemid,50/page,viewtopic/p,970742/sid,bb8f6ddf4946b286f5010bf5c8795e2f/

Unfortunately, my tachometer doesn't work, so I'm having to adjust my idle by feel...It's been kinda tough.

Is the pump jet a single pump jet?

My reverse gear is really grinding when putting it into reverse. I'm sure it wasn't doing this before?

Thanks so much guys. I'm completely new to this and this site has been a great help.

Take a look at the spray fitting you mounted to the top cover. If it has only one hole then it is a single.

Lower your idle speed and that should help your reverse grinding issue. 2002 tachs are notoriously inaccurate at idle IMHO. I use either my ear or a timing light with tach function to check most 02s.

I also learned many years ago that 02s and most older BMWs like it when you go into 1st or 3rd gear BEFORE going for reverse at idle for some reason. It's become muscle memory for me and I do it in almost every BMW I drive (and people make fun of me for it). Probably has something to do with lining up transmission internals for the shift. That fact that this problem is new leads me to believe your idle is too high. No synchro for reverse! ;-)

Paul wrote: I also learned many years ago that 02s and most older BMWs like it when you go into 1st or 3rd gear BEFORE going for reverse at idle for some reason. It's become muscle memory for me and I do it in almost every BMW I drive (and people make fun of me for it). Probably has something to do with lining up transmission internals for the shift. That fact that this problem is new leads me to believe your idle is too high. No synchro for reverse!