Sign in to follow this  
mrdew

Installed side drafts, no power WOT.

28 posts / 2525 viewsLast Reply

Originally with this engine I had a 32/36 DGAV installed with a cannon intake manifold, and the car pulled half decently with it.... It would get up to speed relatively quickly and you could "feel" it when you got on it.

Now I have twin DCOE 40's installed with an Ireland intake manifold and a Delux Redline setup. I originally had a makeshift linkage to get the car on the road and I thought that that was just my issue. I installed the new linkage and verified that it allows for WOT, but absolutely no power. When you go WOT it occasionally "stalls" or loses all power and does not accelerate at all as if you shut off the ignition, but it never stumbles over itself. I have made the carbs extremely rich and lean to see if there was any difference, but there was not. I have the timing set to iirc 16 deg advance at 2,000 RPM. I am stuck in the mud right now.

I am a DCOE newbie, but having gone through an extensive effort to get my new car with DCOE 45s running properly perhaps some of my experience can help. The thread on my issue with a lot of good diagnostic suggestions from 2002FAQ members is linked below. In my case it turned out to be a fuel pump that appeared to have good pressure and flow, but in reality it did not. A new Carter pump fixed the problem.

Can you say a bit more about the problem? It sounds like it is intermittent. Does the car sometimes pull strong to redline at WOT and other times not? What RPM does the problem kick in? Does it do it in corners or after hard braking, or is it just random?