kimerpof

Fuel system help!

14 posts / 733 viewsLast Reply

So i recently got a 1973 2002 and it needed the carb rebuilt. So ive spent the past month trying to figure it out, after thinking it through ive decided to just buy a new carburetor and start fresh. The carb it came with is a weber 32/36 DGAV water choke. while trying to fix it i noticed i didnt have very much fuel going to the carb! could this be the fault of my carb? or my fuel pump? One thing i want to know is should i replace my carb with a water choke or get a electric choke? also i wanted to upgrade the fuel system to a electric pump instead of a mechanical pump. can anyone lead me in the right direction on how to get started with this? any answer to any of my questions will be great help! i am new at working on cars and took on this project as a learning experience to greater my knowledge on cars! thank for the help!

i didn't see in any of your other threads on the same issue whether you had a shop manual or weber carb book. if you don't have these basic tools, you need to get them. if you want to learn about working on cars, you have to do a little studying of the background material and learn where to find information. just a suggestion.

I have a haynes repair manual but not a weber manual. im mostly just looking to buy a new carb instead of fix the old one since its missing a few pieces. i just dont know where to start :(

Electric is a lot easier to deal with. Ours has that and it works fine. You can convert to electric by looping the water back into the manifold (just remove the hose and run a hose between the in/out, bypassing the whole mess).

It's the same power as for the idle cut solenoids, which you already have there. Key on = power (fuel and choke working), key off = no power (no fuel, no choke)